General Hospital #10
Information about General Hospital #10 in Richmond, VA during the Civil War.
General Hospital #10 was also called Union Hospital, Union Hotel Hospital, and United States Hotel Hospital. It was formerly the Union Hotel.
The Union was a unique building rich in local history. It was built in 1817 by Dr. John Adams and designed by Richmond’s first architect Otis Manson and was the first real hotel to be built in the City.
It was used by the medical College of Virginia as its fist Richmond home when it was begun in 1838. After 1845 reopened as a hotel and named United States Hotel. It was a Confederate hospital from July 1862 to the close of the War. For many years it was the home of Richmond Theological Seminary from which developed the present Virginia Union University. In its latter years was the home of Richmond Methodist Mission. It was torn down in 1911.
General Hospital #10 was generally used for officers. Dr. William A. Carrington, was the surgeon-in-charge and it had a capacity of over 300 patients.
The building was located on the southwest corner of 19th and Main Streets, facing on Main presently the site numbered 1821-3-5 East Main Street.
From Confederate Military Hospitals in Richmond by Robert W. Waitt, Jr., Official Publication #22 Richmond Civil War Centennial committee, Richmond, Virginia 1964.